Carolina Walker has lost her mother, is separated from her brother whilst he serves overseas, has an overbearing uncle, who also happens to be the sheriff, ad now she seems to have acquired a stalker! How the heck can this pretty much housebound woman have got a stalker! But when her home is broken into whilst talking with her brother via Skype, he sends in the Cavalry. Who just happens to be in the shape of his buddy, ex soldier/sheriff and newly minted security company owner, Jeb.

32868165

Jeb would do anything for a friend, including leaving his brothers wedding reception to race to the aid of a lone female. But when he arrives he meets the business end of rifle. Caroline may be terrified but she will go down fighting. After their misunderstanding is resolved, she grudgingly allows Jen to help. But with her family thinking she’s seeing things and no real reason apparent as to why she is being targeted, Jeb decides to stick around and see what he can uncover.

I loved this story of two damaged souls finding solace in the other. Jeb’s issues may not be apparent but they are just as real and tangible as Carolinas outward show of fear. Whilst there didn’t appear to be one big trauma that made her isolate herself, you could see how the accumulation of little things made her doubt herself and others. I enjoyed unravelling all the strings between the characters and meeting the unsinkable Emmaline along the way!

I’m hoping that Nate gets a book of his own as that man has more to say I’m sure. I really want to learn more about the others in Jeb’s team too…there has so be a story behind the Casanova! You will find yourself sniggering at Carolina and Katie’s treatment of a certain someone in the barn!!! Whilst there were characters you could easily hate for nothing more than the way their politics/beliefs grate against your own (see Millstone!) I found I still had a little love for some.

I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

